Listen and learn

As President-Elect I will focus on effective and transparent governance. I believe in building a sustainable future of self-regulation for our profession. To achieve this, it will be critical to work with our members (license holders), chapter representatives, fellow Councillors and professional partners including OSPE, OACETT, CEO, Engineers Canada and many others. Together we can deliver a clear message of engineering leadership while serving and protecting the public interest.

During the past few weeks I have visited chapters around the province and have listened and learned about your experiences as a P.Eng.  I met one of the first graduates of the nuclear engineering program (Brampton chapter), one of the first engineers to work as in computer programming back in 1962 (East Toronto chapter) and one of the engineers who work for the Town of Oakville, where I live (Scarborough chapter). I have also welcomed new license holders to the profession, each with their own story to share.  In each of these conversations, I hear the pride of our profession in your voices.

What is my approach to effective leadership as your future President?  During the campaign period I have scheduled time to visit at least 50% of the chapters, demonstrating my commitment to listening and learning.  I have reached out to past presidents, former members of PEO Council and current PEO committee members to learn from their experience and hear their ideas about moving forward.  We have a strong foundation of success to build on.

My commitment to you is to:

–       Listen and learn

–       Reach out to our engineering partners

–       Engage with the past presidents’ advisory group

–       Work to raise the profile and value of the P.Eng.in Ontario

@DARLACAMPBELL #VoteDarlaCampbell. Building the future together.

Leave a Reply

